Day 9: { Vegetarian Chilli with Jasmine Rice}

I know what you’re thinking ” I’m not vegetarian, I’m okay with eating steak everyday” WELL time to make an exception my friends.I guarantee this chilli will satisfy even the die hard meat lovers ( aka if my dad will eat it anyone will)

photo

This recipe was inspired by my food BFF Jamie Oliver.

IMG_2443

I honestly don’t know when this picture was taken, but I feel it is appropriate. 

This chilli has amazing flavour tons of amazing beans, and a sweet and spicy taste. I mean use this recipe as a guide because some people (me) love hot chilli so I added some more spices and adjusted to my liking. However you could add half the spice for a more mild flavour. It’s all up to you.

Honestly I’m writing this super hungry and I just might make it now, ugh can someone write the rest of this while I cook???

Anyways the rice is great underneath it, something I’m not used to with chilli but definitely a hit. Jasmine rice is also a heavier more dense rice so it really fills you up.

Bonus this meal is really good for you nutritionally. Bonus marks if you use brown rice , I didn’t because honestly I think it tastes weird haha!

Without further a due:

Vegetarian Chilli with Jasmine Rice 

Ingredients

  • 1 dried smoked chipotle or ancho chilli

  • ½ fresh red chilli

  • 1 red onion

  • 1 teaspoon sweet smoked paprika

  • ½ teaspoon cumin seeds

  • 1-2 garlic cloves

  • 1 big bunch fresh cilantro ( optional)

  • olive oil

  • 2 mixed-colour peppers

  • 1 x 400 g tin of chickpeas

  • 1 x 400 g tin of black beans

  • 700 g crushed tomatoes 

  • 1x 250 g pack of cooked mixed long grain & wild rice or jasmine rice 

Directions 

1.Put the chillies, peeled and halved red onion, paprika and cumin seeds into the processor, squash in the unpeeled garlic through a garlic crusher, then add the coriander stalks (reserving the leaves) and 2 tablespoons of oil, and whiz until fine

2.Tip into the pan, then add the deseeded and roughly chopped peppers, drained chickpeas and black beans, a pinch of salt and pepper and the crushed tomatoes, stir well and put the lid on
3.Make a well in the middle of the chilli and tip in the rice, then pop the lid on for the last few minutes to warm the rice through

Serve with dollops of yoghurt, cheese, and tortillia chips.

Thanks for reading,

Sarah

Leave a Reply

