Coconut Curry Soup

I have a confession. I’m obsessed…

with soup.

Image

 

This could be for a number of reasons. For one thing I’m always cold – seriously ask my family. So soup is the most comforting thing to eat, for me. It’s all full body hug basically. Also soups are great because you can throw so many different things in a pot and create incredible flavors! I could go on but i’m drooling .. so ..ya..

Honestly in the winter sometimes ill make soup two or three times a week. I would make it more if I had more room in my fridge.

So today the heat wasn’t on in my house which made me feel like an ice cube ,and I hadn’t even stepped outside.

Image

Ya see what I mean! Unforgiving cold. So naturally I wanted soup. Also I’m off school every Monday and I don’t have my internship, so I normally try to make something delish!

I’m a huge fan of curry and Thai food – so I decided to make red curry coconut soup. I made it before and it was so good it’s a little spicy and creamy because of the coconut milk.

Guaranteed you won’t just eat one bowl.

Okay so first thing you will take ONE of the cans of coconut milk and scoop the “thick” off the top of it.

Image

It’s just the thicker layer of the coconut milk that covers about a half an inch of the can. Do not add the whole can!

Image

Heat on medium high heat, until the cream melts. About a minute or so. Then add curry paste and cook until it begins to sizzle.

For the cilantro root just separate it from the rest of the cilantro and make sure you wash it well – since you’re using the root.

Image

Cut off any white parts of the root and wash the roots again. Cut the chickens into strips. Then add the cilantro root, and chicken to the coconut and curry paste mixture. Cook until chicken is completely cooked all the way through about 6 minutes.

Add the remaining coconut milk from the first can and then add the other can. Then add the chicken broth, carrot, fish sauce and lime zest and juice. Grate the frozen ginger into the broth. Then let the soup simmer ( uncovered) for about 25 minutes.

Stir in the bean sprouts. Then add the noodles.

Image

Turn off the heat and let stand until the noodles for about 5 minutes. Rice noodles don’t need to simmer like pasta to cook; they just need to re-hydrate in the hot water/liquid.

Image

After the noodles are cooked add a handful of cilantro to the soup. My dad doesn’t like cilantro so I only added a bit ( yes I was voted daughter of the year 2013).

Image

Put the rest of the cilantro in a bowl as well cut up some green onion and extra bean sprouts. The green onion are so great to add on top they definitely add a little extra flavor.

And..

Ta-dah!

Image

Side note: For whatever reason this photo will not rotate, despite my many efforts to rotate it. Just thought i’d share, so you guys didn’t think I was incapable of rotating a photo – well I guess I actually am… awkward…

This soup is a little spicy and creamy and incredibly satisfying. It’s so-tasty-you-gotta-have-two-bowls-even-though-you’re-full good. I normally double this recipe because leftovers are great for lunch and when 11 o’clock hunger strikes ( which is always)

My brother and my mom couldn’t wait to eat with the rest of the family. I’ll take that as compliment , and ill run with it.

Image

Ingredients ( serves 5)

2 14 ounce cans premium coconut milk
1 heaping Tablespoon Thai curry paste
1 bunch cilantro roots, rinsed well
2 chicken breasts, thinly sliced
2 cups chicken broth
1 carrot, shredded
2 tablespoons fish sauce
2 limes zest and juice
a small knob frozen ginger
a handful bean sprouts
8 ounce package rice noodles
1 bunch cilantro leaves, rinsed well
2 or 3 green onions, thinly sliced

Instructions

1. Scoop the thick coconut cream from the top of just one of the cans into a large pot set over a medium-high heat. Melt the cream, add the curry paste and stir for a few minutes until they begin to sizzle.
 2. Add the cilantro roots and chicken and sauté until the chicken is cooked through, about 6 minutes.
3.Add the coconut juice from the first can and all the contents of the second can along with the chicken broth, carrot, fish sauce and lime zest and juice. Grate the frozen ginger into the broth. Simmer for about 25 minutes
4.Stir in the bean sprouts. Add the rice noodles, gently pushing them into the soup. Turn off the heat and let stand until the noodles soften, about 5 minutes. Rice noodles don’t need to simmer like pasta to cook; they simply need to rehydrate in the hot liquid.
5.Stir in most of the cilantro leaves.Taste and season with a touch more salt (or soy sauce) as needed. Ladle into large bowls and garnish with the green onions and remaining cilantro leaves.
 
 
Side Note: I would probably recommend less fish sauce next time it made it a bit to salty and I had to add milk to even it out a bit. Also if you like your soup to be spicier ( I always do) add more curry paste.
 
Enjoy
-Sarah
Leave a Reply

